UPPER High School (Grades 10-11)

  • Class Title: The Trial of a Town: Literary Analysis of Chronicle of a Death Foretold
  • Meeting dates:
    • 12/21, 12/22, 12/28, 12/29 
  • Meeting time and length:
    • Class length: 90 minutes 
    • Class time:
      • 1PM-2:30PM PT / 4PM-5:30PM ET or
  • Class Content:
    • Text: Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    • Week 1 would be completely discussion-based. We’d read the entire novel before the Monday meeting, and we’d start off with a discussion about who is responsible for the murder, then, the next day, (with students taking a second look and providing discussion questions), we’d look more deeply into themes, and purpose.
    • Week 2 would be writing based. Students would be asked to write an analytical essay between 12/29 and 1/4 (submission on 1/3 most likely), and I would run a couple of mini-lessons on the specifics of literary analysis. Then we’d set up a peer review and have the final day be a guided peer review process.
    • Students could optionally submit a revised essay that we would discuss in one of their regular sessions.

8TH-9TH GRADE

  • Class Title: What’s News? Journalistic Moves and You
  • Meeting dates:
    • 12/28, 12/29, 1/3 
  • Meeting time and length:
    • Class time and length:
      • 12/28, 9:30AM-11AM PT / 12:30PM-2PM ET (90min)
      • 12/29, 9:30AM-11AM PT / 12:30PM-2PM ET (90mi)
      • 1/3, 11AM-2PM PT / 2:00PM-5PM ET (3hr)
  • Class Content:
    • Read news articles from New York Times and discuss major topics in the news today. I think we’d actually take a look at the front page each day, and I’d assign something the night before (from that day) for the students to read before coming. We would do some discussion about form, content, and journalistic styles, and then we’d have a writing portion each session.
    • The second session, we would look specifically about the editorials and how people respond to news articles as a way to prep for the longer writing assignment.
    • After the first week, I would have them all choose an article from the Times to respond to. They would need to submit their response by the end of the day on 1/3 so I can review these, and then we would do some peer work to help guide revision. Basically, that session on 1/4 would look like: 15 min of browsing the headlines and thinking about what’s standing out for the day, 30-35 min of instruction on peer review, 25-30 min of actual peer review, and then some time to begin reworking the draft. I would send them my comments on their drafts at the end of the session, and they would revise for that day’s homework. Then, for our final session, we would do a little reflection on what makes an effective response to a news article, and we would wrap up with a discussion on what moves journalists make that might be helpful in academic writing.